The Martin Duffy Children's Entertainer of the Year Award

Martin Duffy Award for Childrens entertainment

About the Martin Duffy Children's Entertainer of the Year Award

The Martin Duffy Children’s Entertainer of the Year award was introduced in 2012, While Graeme Shaw was president. Graeme felt that there was a gap in the Newcastle Magic Circle’s lineup and wanted to hold a Children’s Magic competition. It was named after Martin Duffy as he is well known in the North East for his Children’s Magic shows. It is named after Martin Duffy who has been an active member of the Newcastle Magic Circle since 1980. He has been both President and Secretary during his membership. The Current holder of the Martin Duffy Award is Sarah Lloyd.
Newcastle Magic Circle

Martin Duffy Children's Entertainer of the Year Award Rules

1. The competition shall be held each year in a venue decided upon by the Committee.
2. The Competition shall be open to all Members in good standing of the Newcastle upon Tyne Magic Circle.
3. The minimum number of competitors shall be three and the maximum number shall be five. If there are more than five people wishing to enter then the first position shall go to the previous year’s winner, should they wish to enter. The remaining places shall be decided by names drawn from a hat.
4. Each performance shall be between six and fifteen minutes. A verbal warning will be given after twelve minutes and another at fifteen minutes. Any competitor exceeding the time limit of fifteen minutes shall be disqualified.
5. A panel of a minimum of three judges to be arranged. These shall be made up of both magical and non-magical individuals and may include children.
6. The winner shall receive the trophy and retain it in safe keeping for a period of twelve month. A small trophy shall also be presented to be retained by the winner.
7. The Committee retains the right to withhold the trophy should they consider that no competitor has reached the required standard.

Rules updated and issued January 2021, and agreed by the 2021 council of:
Glenn Ward (pres.), Tony Junior (sec.), Michael Redfearn (treas.), Simon Jacobs (libr.), Robert Reed (welf.)